Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Deleting Page Feedback


22 September 2015, 4:21

We recently upgraded to 15.04.  One of my users had page feedback switched on and decided to turn it off.  When she turned it off, it still showed previous feedback that was given prior to the upgrade.  So I had her delete the feedback.  The comment section of the feedback deleted but it still shows that someone had left  feedback.  Is this normal?  When reading the documentation, I thought it would all be deleted.  ??

Aaron Wells's profile picture
Posts: 896

23 September 2015, 11:42

Hi Melinda,

I took a look at the code history, and this behavior has actually been present in Mahara since comment deletion was first implemented in 2010 for Mahara 1.3. I wasn't on the dev team at that time, but I think the idea was that by showing a placeholder for the deleted comments, you leave a sort of audit trail that prevents users from obscuring or distorting their interactions with other users.

You do raise an interesting point, though. Perhaps we should add a way to prevent the display of comments entirely, on a page.

The immediate workaround for this issue, is to create a copy of the page. The copy won't have any comments on it.

Cheers,

Aaron

Kristina Hoeppner's profile picture
Posts: 4729

23 September 2015, 16:46

This is the same query as at https://mahara.org/interaction/forum/topic.php?id=7368

24 September 2015, 7:35

Thank you Aaron.  My user will be very happy.

4 results