Forums | Mahara Community

Developers /
Add blocktype plugin on dashboard page of normal user

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

03 November 2014, 18:45

Hi all,

I am new to mahara. I want to create a blocktype plugin and want to show it on dahboard page of logged in user as like My Pages, Lattest Pages, ... 

I have created a template plugin and installed it under blocktype extensions. but it is not coming on my dashboard page. 

What i have to do to show that plugin?

03 November 2014, 21:04

Hello

After you ave copied the files under bocktype, vous must activate your new plugin under Site Administration -> Plugin

Also you must add your new block on the Dashbord by editing it under Pages

Regards,

-dajan
Account deleted

04 November 2014, 23:00

Hi dajan, 

Already I have moved the files and folders under blocktype and installed it via Administration -> Extensions. 

Mentioned a category as 'general' on get_categories() and get_viewtypes() as 'dashboard' in lib.php.

Do i need to do anything further? if it is so, please explain me

*Note : mahara version : 1.9.3

Regards,
Kamala Kamatchi Devi.
Robert Lyon's profile picture

05 November 2014, 7:08

Hi Kamala,

Can you check the blocktype_installed table in your database to make sure that

1) the new blocktype you've made is present and

2) that the blocktype is active

Cheers

Robert

Account deleted

05 November 2014, 18:26

Hi Robert,

My blocktype name is present in the table blocktype_installed, blocktype_installed_category and blocktype_installed_viewtype  (I think i need a record on block_instance table. But i don't know how to create it). 

Regards,

Kamala Kamatchi Devi

Aaron Wells's profile picture

07 November 2014, 14:50

Hi Kamala,

It sounds like the remaining step you need to take is to actually add an instance of the block to your dashboard page, and to the template for new users' dashboard pages.