Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Institution hompages

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

11 April 2013, 1:44

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Mahara, and I hope this is the right place to ask this question.

We have a fresh installation of Mahara, with a few institutions in it. All users are authenticated with shibboleth, and based on their attributes automatically assigned to an institution.

Since the users do not have to request membership to an institution they might not be aware of their membership status. Therefore, I'd like to provide specific information on a insitutional homepage. Now there's a site homepage and a group homepage, but I can't find something like an institutional hompage.

Am I missing something?

thanks and best regards

Rolf

Aaron Wells's profile picture

11 April 2013, 11:14

Hi Rolf,

Welcome aboard! Smile

I don't think Institutions have a homepage that is quite the same as the group homepage. The closest is the user's Institution Membership page, but that's pretty bare -- it just tells you what institution you're in.

There are Institution Pages, which are Pages that get copied into a user's portfolio when they join an institution. So, you could use one of those to share the information. Or you could create a Group for each Institution, and use that.

Cheers,
Aaron

Account deleted

11 April 2013, 20:26

Thanks for your answer Aaron,

A particular institution page or an institution-group could be a solution. It would however be important that users finds institution-specific information very easy, preferrably without additional mouse click. Is this doable with an institution page or a group?

Most of our users a pure beginners with Mahara, and I doubt that they find that instiution-information-page.

cheers

Rolf

11 April 2013, 18:31

Hello Rolf,