Forums | Mahara Community

Comments on feature proposals /
Thoughts on Mahara 1.4

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

04 July 2011, 8:06

I'm not a developer, I've not had much input into this as I'm just a user so can I apologise in advance if what I say now offends some of the people who've worked hard on it.  It is not my intention to offend and I really appreciate the hard work that has gone into a fantastic product. However....

Where has the blogging facility gone?  Probably the most useful facility in Mahara was the ability to create and publish blogs and it has disappeared from Mahara 1.4 to be replaced by something called a "Journal".

This Journal allows me to make several entries; however it does not allow me to follow threads through and add posts to seperate "blogs".

Although the front end to Mahara 1.4 is much nicer than the older style, the page layout system and general look and feel are much improved  we will not be using it as the main pedagogical uses have been completely removed.

Sorry to be so negative in this post but we need students to be able to blog, organise their blogging and develop and reflect on their learning - if they cannot thread their journals we're stuffed!!  Back to 1.2 for us :-(

Account deleted

04 July 2011, 9:24

In reply to my own blog I'm taking the roadmap for journals from the mahara wiki - https://wiki.mahara.org/index.php/Roadmap/5_Journals_(aka_Blogs)

This CLEARLY shows that each journal can have seperate posts.  Why has this been abandoned for 1.4?

Dirk Meyer's profile picture

04 July 2011, 9:53

Dave,

a user has to enable multiple journals first. This can be done at http://www.yourdomain/account/  Just click on 'Enable multiple journals' and then 'Save'

Account deleted

04 July 2011, 12:24

@Dirk - thank you for pointing this out - it is a very well hidden "feature". I don't suppose there is a site wide way of setting this is there?

Faith in Mahara restored after a shaky few hours - Thanks Dirk :-)