Forums | Mahara Community

Open Discussion /
Write a 'Mahara' Book for Packt Publishing!

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

01 September 2010, 4:30

Hi All,

I am an author recruiter at Packt Publishing (www.packtpub.com). We publish computer-related books on a wide variety of IT topics.

We are planning to publish a new book on Mahara. I am looking out for potential authors to write this book, who are experts and passionate about Mahara and would like to share their knowledge with everyone.

Title: Mahara Cookbook
Planned to be a 300 pages book, targeted at people who have been using Mahara for a while but want to learn how to do more advanced things with it.

To give you an idea about the way things work at Packt:

• * The editorial team at Packt works with the author through the project.

• * We pay a royalty of 16% and an advance against it.

• * The marketing team at Packt ensures that the book is well promoted.

*In its ongoing commitment to OpenSource, Packt donates a percentage of revenue generated by the book to the OpenSource project on which it is based. We have donated more than 150 000 dollars since inception in 2004.

Could you please let me know if you find it interesting to author this book?

Thanks,

Snehman.

--
Snehman Kohli
Author Relationship Executive
Packt Publishing
www.PacktPub.com
MSN: [email protected]
Interested in becoming an author? Visit http://authors.packtpub.com for all the information you need about writing for Packt.

Kristina Hoeppner's profile picture

01 September 2010, 18:28

Hello Snehman,

Thanks for your post and the great news that you are thinking about another Mahara book. We just made the release candidate for version 1.3 public and will have a stable release some time soon. As you can see from the release notes at http://mahara.org/interaction/forum/topic.php?id=2207 there are many enhancements to 1.2 and also features that are good for extensive portfolio use.

Thus, a Mahara Cookbook is a great idea.