Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Submissions, aggregation and searchable function

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

04 March 2010, 6:46

Appologies as I'm a bit new to Mahara -- I have an instance of Mahara installed and setup, what I want is for users to be able take one of their uploaded files, and submit it to a vew, and that view to be searchable...

For example several users have their own e-portfolios; in their portfolios they have a single document (e.g. a recepie) and I want to aggregate all those recepie articles on one public view (hopefully without having to duplicate the file in the file system) and make that view searchable by the author, the recepie title, keywords, or the institution of user...

Is this possible with Mahara? 

Kristina Hoeppner's profile picture

04 March 2010, 14:29

Hello S,

Your suggestion sounds great. As far as I know, Mahara can't do that currently for a number of reasons.

Since Mahara 1.2 students can have a tag cloud / search for their individual portfolio. If you don't see it, your administrator needs to enable it. Likewise, he can disable the regular search which has not been working properly for many people. With the tag search enabled, students can locate all their artefacts, blog posts, views, files etc. when they tag them. However, there is no institution wide tag system or a group tag system in place as Richard implemented the individual tag cloud for the time being (was one of our feature requests :-) ).

If you want to make things public, they have to be made public by the students themselves. Otherwise, nobody can see the artefacts even if you manage to aggregate them somehow. Mahara allows for a very finely tuned rights management. Only things that are put into a view can potentially be seen by others. Who can eventually see what depends on who gets access to this view.

Cheers

Kristina

Craig Eves's profile picture

04 March 2010, 17:30