Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Authenticated method changes automatically

Juan Menéndez's profile picture

12 May 2022, 18:57

Hello

I am an administrator of a Mahara site and I have a problem with user authentication that I don't know how to solve.

In my Mahara there are 56 institutions and users can join more than one institution. All users must authenticate to my Mahara through LDAP and then decide which institutions they want to join. All institutions have internal authentication as the only authentication method, so that they can create other users that only authenticate internally.

The problem is:
When an administrator of an institution edits the data of an LDAP-authenticated user, this user automatically changes his authentication method to internal authentication.

How can I do so that the authentication method of these users does not change automatically?

Thank you very much

Kristina Hoeppner's profile picture

17 May 2022, 9:29

Hi Juan,

Can you please confirm for me a couple of things as I have not been able to replicate this issue yet?

1. Are all your accounts in one 'proper' institution, i.e. not in 'No institution' (shortname 'mahara')? I.e. that all your account holders can be in multiple institutions?
  2. The institution administrators are only administrators in their own institution but also regular members in the all-encompassing institution?
  3. Which version of Mahara do you have? Ideally, you are on the latest release of one of our supported versions of Mahara (either 21.04, 21.10, or 22.04) so we know what your level of patching is and that you have the latest code.

Thank you

Kristina

17 May 2022, 18:54

Hi Kristina,

I will try to clarify those things that you ask me.

All user accounts are initially in "No Institution" (mahara) because they authenticate through LDAP and choose which institution they want to participate in after logging in for the first time.