Forums | Mahara Community

Pedagogy /
Improvements to names of pages and buttons

Dianne Tennent's profile picture

22 October 2021, 10:44

Hello Mahara community! 

As a former teacher, I'm aware of the advantages of digital tools to enhance learning, but also of the ways that these tools can impede learning, when students are faced with an additional challenge of learning how to use these learning tools. 

As a new developer on the Mahara team, I've had the chance to find my way around the site as a new user, and this has prompted some ideas for ways to improve the naming of a few areas, to make it a bit more intuitive for teachers and learners to find their way around the site. 

Since we don't have the budget to conduct official user testing to inform these decisions, it would be wonderful to get as much feedback as possible on these ideas, so that we can confirm that they would indeed be an improvement to the Mahara experience.

1: 'Collections and pages':

• As a new user of Mahara, I saw that I could create a collection and a page, but I wondered, how do I actually create my portfolio?
    On viewing the profile page, listed under the heading "My Portfolios" is a list of collections and pages. At this point I realised, ohh, when I create a collection (or a page) I am creating a portfolio. A collection IS a portfolio, a page IS a portfolio.
  • Therefore, my proposal is that we replace "Pages and collections" with "Portfolios" or "Portfolio Library". This will improve the user experience by clarifying what collections and pages actually are, clarifying the idea that a portfolio could just be a page, or a collection of pages and also having a cleaner look for the headings.

2: The 'Add' button on the 'Pages and collections' overview page:

• The term 'add' implies that something that already exists is being added to the user's profile. However in reality, when we click 'add', we are actually creating a page, or a collection/portfolio that didn't already exist.