Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Message "Site unavailable A nonrecoverable error occurred. This probably means you have encountered a bug in the system"

27 July 2021, 20:05

Hi everybody, my name is Luis and I'm a newbie admin of Mahara and a Moodle.  I have a problem when I send a document from Moodle to Mahara, Mahara shows me this menssage:

MaharaZar: Site unavailable
A nonrecoverable error occurred. This probably means you have encountered a bug in the system

I give you more information:

• Moodle version: Moodle 3.9.8+ (Build: 20210716)
  • Mahara version: 18.04.3testing
  • Both systems have the same public key.
  • When I use the Mahara web offline with moodle it works perfectly.
  • I do not have permissions to see the apache error.log file.

What's happening here? How do I correct it?

Thanks

Robert Lyon's profile picture

28 July 2021, 7:46

Hi Luis,

Unfortunately that error is a catch-all generic error in Mahara and so is too hard to diagnose the problem from that alone.

More help would exist in the apache error.log so I'd suggest asking for a copy of it from the system administrator that looks after the server - but if you can't get that one thing you could try is this:

If you can access the dataroot folder for the site (defined by $cfg->dataroot in config.php file) then you could specify the error log info to go to a file that you can see.

To do this add/adjust the logging info in your config.php file by placing this at the end of the file

$cfg->log_dbg_targets     = LOG_TARGET_SCREEN | LOG_TARGET_ERRORLOG | LOG_TARGET_FILE;
$cfg->log_info_targets    = LOG_TARGET_SCREEN | LOG_TARGET_ERRORLOG | LOG_TARGET_FILE;
$cfg->log_warn_targets    = LOG_TARGET_SCREEN | LOG_TARGET_ERRORLOG | LOG_TARGET_FILE;
$cfg->log_environ_targets = LOG_TARGET_SCREEN | LOG_TARGET_ERRORLOG | LOG_TARGET_FILE;
$cfg->log_file = $cfg->dataroot . '/log/test_error.log';