Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Wouldn't it be nice if the site administrator could manage the group?

AB-Net's profile picture

26 May 2021, 3:44

Hi,

Site administrators can manage institutions without becoming an institution administrator.

The site administrator cannot manage the group unless heĀ  becomes the administrator of the group.

As with institution management, group management may be possible even if I am a site administrator and not a group administrator.

Site administrators will not need to be automatically registered as group administrators if they can manage groups even if they are not group administrators.

Thank you.

AB-Net.

Kristina Hoeppner's profile picture

31 May 2021, 20:46

Hi AB-Net,

I was not involved in the discussions of why site administrators don't have immediate access to groups, but suspect that it is a privacy feature. As site administrator you cannot immediately access any account without masquerading as the portfolio author (and let them know about it if your site is configured that way).

Groups can be private and thus it could easily become a breach of privacy if a site administrator could access them without any hurdle. Granted, becoming an administrator of the group is only a small hurdle, but it does bring to the forefront that you can't 'just wander in' and look around in the group, but have that additional step to go through. If it shall be easier for site admins (and potentially institution admins for the groups associated with their institutions) to access groups, we might want to think about a sort of masquerading as with regular accounts and a notification to group administrators.

Cheers

Kristina

AB-Net's profile picture

01 June 2021, 0:14

Hi Kristina,

Thank you for answering.

> Groups can be private and thus it could easily become a breach of privacy if a site administrator could access them without any hurdle.

I think the idea of protecting privacy is important.