Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Transfering Mahara work when you leave

nicola parkin's profile picture

27 September 2019, 13:40

I am an educational designer, and I am looking to provide our university staff and students with advice on how to save and continue with their Mahara work after they leave the insitution. I am looking for EASY, as of course there is a risk people will just abandon their Mahara work. The pattern is, people are just not uptaking Mahara because it is not clear how how they can continue. The situation is somewhat ironic, as I am touting a message that eportfolio work is 'slow' work that does not stop at the borders of the institution. I feel that, unless I can provide an easy and sensible strategy at the end of their institutional time, I can't in good conscience promote the tool as a wide, long, strategy for integrated personal use. 

• One option is to set up a private Mahara account, in preference to transfering to another system. Has anyone recently tackled this? or can point me to information about doing it? 
  • The other elephanty-type question is - what other platforms accept Mahara work as an easy import?

Any leads much appreciated, Nicci :-)

David Bell's profile picture

27 September 2019, 15:24

This is an excellent question Nicci, and I have experienced the same dilemma. We were fortunate that I had a small group of Mahara users who wanted to continue to develop their work after finishing with their tertiary institution, and a new sponsoring base (a Methodist Church) with a similar, very small group, who wanted to promote their creative output. The parish put up a Mahara instance which we maintain on a volunteer base. Our traffic is small but promotions in FB and Youtube drive traffic to the site. You can learn more here from the site itself.

nicola parkin's profile picture

27 September 2019, 17:39