Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Email problem

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

22 January 2014, 13:30

Hi everyone.

I wonder if someone could decipher this error message for me. Mahara won't issue email notifications and is returning this error. As far as I can tell everything is configured. I'm guessing there's a problem with php somewhere but I'm not a developer so....

User notification error was probably caused by your server configuration.

exception 'EmailException' with message 'Couldn't send email to Simon Wooler (admin) with subject The Dog Scientific Friends: New contact us. Error from phpmailer was: SMTP Error: Could not connect to SMTP host.' in /home/thedogsc/public_html/lib/user.php:660
Stack trace:
#0 /home/thedogsc/public_html/notification/email/lib.php(86): email_user(Object(stdClass), Object(stdClass), 'The Dog Scienti...', 'You have been s...', NULL, NULL)
#1 [internal function]: PluginNotificationEmail::notify_user(Object(stdClass), Object(stdClass))
#2 /home/thedogsc/public_html/lib/mahara.php(1449): call_user_func_array(Array, Array)
#3 /home/thedogsc/public_html/lib/activity.php(455): call_static_method('PluginNotificat...', 'notify_user', Object(stdClass), Object(stdClass))
#4 /home/thedogsc/public_html/lib/activity.php(494): ActivityType->notify_user(Object(stdClass))
#5 /home/thedogsc/public_html/lib/activity.php(66): ActivityType->notify_users()
#6 /home/thedogsc/public_html/lib/activity.php(203): handle_activity('5', Object(stdClass), true)
#7 /home/thedogsc/public_html/lib/cron.php(142): activity_process_queue()
#8 {main}

can someone point me in the right direction
thanks
Si
Robert Lyon's profile picture

22 January 2014, 14:37

Hi Si

This error can exist for a variety of reasons.

One of which is - if your SMTP encryption setting is SSL - you might need to install the php_openssl extension.

Another is there could be firewall settings blocking the outbound connection/port

Hope this helps,

Robert