Forums | Mahara Community

Developers /
Custom Jquery form field in CPD plugin

Sarah Cotton's profile picture

11 October 2013, 20:39

Hello everyone, this is my first post so please be gentle with me!

I'm trying to adapt the location input field in the CPD plugin (great plugin by the way!) to use Jquery (or javascript). I want to hook it up to a database with a list of locations, and when the user starts to type (and reaches around 3 or 4  characters), the database will return a sub-dropdown menu with the choices available.

I've tried replacing the entire form in a template which seems to work ok and the jquery side of things work just fine, but then I can't figure out how to get the form data back into the lib.php in order to continue with the rest of the process, as it's expecting a pieform. 

I've also tried creating a new pieform element which also seems to work, but then I can't figure out how to incorporate the Jquery!

I'm very new to my job/ mahara/using templates having just finished uni so I'm kind of in at the deep end with the whole templating business. If anyone has any pointers I'd be so grateful, perhaps at I'm looking at the problem wrong, I just don't know.

Geoff Rowland's profile picture

13 October 2013, 22:39

Hi Sarah

Glad to hear you are finding the CPD plugin useful.

However, probably can't help much with the jQuery (I guess you are using the jQueryUI Autocomplete widget) / Pieforms integration. During development of the CPD plugin, we used Pieforms, drawing heavily from the design of the existing Plans plugin.

One note about jQuery. Mahara also uses the MochiKit JavaScript library. So, to use jQuery alongside this, you may have to use the jQuery or $j function rather than $ (used by MochiKit). See the code comments in /lib/web.php for details.

Good luck with adding new features to the CPD plugin. If they are useful, I'll be very happy to integrate them into the plugin code.

Tobias Zeuch's profile picture

14 October 2013, 19:23