Forums | Mahara Community

Mahara/Moodle integration /
Adding Users by CSV

Laurie Miles's profile picture

27 August 2012, 13:53

Hello Forum,

I am a relative newbie to Mahara site administration, so please excuse my ignorance.  I want to upload new users to my Mahara institution by csv.  Our Mahara site is integrated with our Moodle system and we use XMLRPC Authentication.  Currently, users must log in through our Moodle log in site to initiate and establish their Mahara account.  Is there any way I can bulk upload users directly into our Mahara system bypassing the Moodle log in or must they establish their accounts in the aforementioned fashion?  Additionally, if I can bulk upload users by csv, what authentication method would I use?

Thanks.

Mary Cooch's profile picture

27 August 2012, 17:07

Hello there. As far as I am aware if you upload the users to Mahara via csv (the documentation for Mahara 1.5  is here http://manual.mahara.org/en/1.5/site_admin/users.html#add-and-new15-update-users-by-csv ) then your users will need to go separately to Mahara and log in again. If they go via Moodle, as you have it set up already then their accounts will get created when they first access Mahara. The danger you run is with having duplicate accounts - ie, if you do bulk upload them straight to Mahara they will have one account and then if they go in via Moodle they will have a second account. It seems that if your Moodle and Mahara are combined then I would leave it as it is. (I hope that rather  badly phrased reply makes senseLaughing)

Helen Bound's profile picture

01 October 2014, 22:43

Mary, you may have already answered my query as our users login to Mahara via Moodle but we wanted to upload users to Mahara groups using CSV files and it wouldn't let me. something about not having the admin role assigned to this user.