Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Mahara-localhost

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

13 December 2011, 11:37

So, i know this is a stupid question but i am a real noob so i 'll ask! I don't get why i had to install mahara (on my localhost server). I did it but i fail to see the difference between that and mahara.org. It seems to me that i have an account here that gives me the privillages of mahara (my views, my blog, my files etc) and i can edit my profile, upload a resume.............

What advantages are given by setting up my own mahara site? What are the differences between that account and my mahara.org account? Is my site connected with mahara? Also, why is there no "my views" feature in my site?

Thank you for your time...

Mary Cooch's profile picture

13 December 2011, 12:57

Hi thereLaughing No questions are stupid! First of all - if you make an account here and make views I don't think they last forever, unlike on your own set up. You won't have "views" because in the latest version they are called "pages" but they work the same way (mostly) Also - on Mahara.org you can't see things as total admin would, i the way you could on your own set up. "Localhost" normally means just on your server and not necessarily online - if it's not online then you can play with it to your heart's content but not connect to other people. If yours IS up on the internet - then that's fine- carry on with itLaughing

Account deleted

13 December 2011, 13:53

Thank you very much for your answer...

How do mahara users usually share their portfolio with others? I can't do it because of the localhost thing? 

Kristina Hoeppner's profile picture

13 December 2011, 22:18

Hello Nick,