Forums | Mahara Community

Open Discussion /
How to Insert Facebook like plugin in Profile Block

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

09 December 2010, 4:52

Hi,

I want to insert a facebook like script to add a option to allow people to like my profile how can i add that.

I tried to add a html page contaning facebook script but it is not working........

12 March 2011, 12:10

Hi Shivesh,

I've been experimenting with different options myself, and have not yet found a solution, but I'm not an experienced coder--I just dabble.  If I find a way to add the Like button, I will post it.  If you find one, please let me know.

Thanks,

Ellen

Gregor Anželj's profile picture

16 March 2011, 3:34

I had a couple of spare hours, so I came up with this: http://mahara.org/view/view.php?id=35645

Install it, test it and please report back, if it is what you've expected.

Demo can be seen at: http://mahara.ledina.org/DEV/view/view.php?id=6

Regards,
Gregor

Kristina Hoeppner's profile picture

17 March 2011, 2:20

Hi Gregor,

I'm the first to like and to comment. Great. It works nicely and shows up on my Facebook page.

Cool.

Kristina

Account deleted

06 December 2012, 4:34

Hi Kristina,

We're experimenting with the Facebook like plugin on our test server. For some reason, the "like" does not show up on my Facebook activity even though the page is public. Also- when I attempt to comment on the page, the comment does not appear.

Have others had issues with this?

Best,

Michelle

Kristina Hoeppner's profile picture

09 December 2012, 19:52

Hello Michelle,

Maybe Facebook changed something in their API? We've had an issue with the Facebook logo that we created specifically to be picked up by Facebook, tested it, all went well and then when going live, they had changed things.

The plugin is not part of Mahara core and thus it depends on the maintainer to make updates to it. I don't know if Gregor has already been looking into this issue or not.