Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Database update problem (v1.4.1 to v1.5.1)

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

30 May 2012, 13:51

I'm getting the following error when upgrading the database:

Could not execute command: ALTER TABLE `group` ADD CONSTRAINT grou_ins_fk FOREIGN KEY (institution) REFERENCES institution (name)

Call stack (most recent first):
  • execute_sql("ALTER TABLE `group` ADD CONSTRAINT grou_ins_fk FOR...") at C:\inetpub\wwwroot\eportfolios\mahara\lib\dml.php:1395
  • execute_sql_arr(array(size 1), true, true) at C:\inetpub\wwwroot\eportfolios\mahara\lib\ddl.php:1051
  • add_key(object(XMLDBTable), object(XMLDBKey)) at C:\inetpub\wwwroot\eportfolios\mahara\lib\db\upgrade.php:2385
  • xmldb_core_upgrade("2011061004") at C:\inetpub\wwwroot\eportfolios\mahara\lib\upgrade.php:301
  • upgrade_core(object(stdClass)) at C:\inetpub\wwwroot\eportfolios\mahara\admin\upgrade.json.php:94

This occurs when updating the core.  I'm not really a systems programmer so don't know where to start on this one.

I am using the config file from my prior running version (1.4.1)

Any ideas on how I should proceed?

Account deleted

30 May 2012, 14:31

Actually, after reloading the old database into mysql I ran the update again and recalled that my first error message was:

A nonrecoverable error occured. This probably means you have encountered a bug in the system

I get the prior reported message when I try to run the update again.  So I think my problem is deeper than what I originally thought.

Any thoughts on how to proceed?

Account deleted

30 May 2012, 16:26

Hi Bart,

Restore your old database, run the upgrade again, and as soon as you see "A nonrecoverable error occurred...", have a look in your webserver log, it should have some useful information about the source of the error.

R.

Account deleted

31 May 2012, 8:59

Hi richard,

I have the same issue on a test environment and its coming up with

Invalid (old?) table or database name '#sql-68c_64'