Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Failed to install

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

19 March 2009, 11:59

Hello All :

I'm new to Mahara , and i need to install it , I'm not an Web Developer , and i need some one to give me Step-By-Step instruction to install it .

I visited http://wiki.mahara.org/System_Administrator's_Guide/Installing_Mahara  , but i didn't understand lot of things there .

But I can create DB , Users , etc , so if any one would like to help me by clarify what  exactly i should do in every step.

Thanks in advance 

Account deleted

19 March 2009, 18:52

Hi - my suggestion is for you to try and follow the documentation, and when you get stuck, ask a specific question here and we can help you out Smile

The first step - requirements - just check that you have all of them available Wink

Account deleted

19 March 2009, 19:41

Hi Nigel :

Thanks for response , step 1 & 2 done .

For step 3 , i use cpanel to create a database + username

But i don't know what is createdb -U (username who will be connecting) -EUTF8 (databasename)

OR

mysql -Uroot[enter password]create database (databasename); 

grant all on (databasename).* to 'username'@'localhost' identified by 'password'; 

Account deleted

19 March 2009, 20:33

Hi. If you created the database and user to access it via CPanel, you don't need either of those steps - they're just for if you're creating them on the command line Cool

The important thing is, at the end of that step you need a database Wink

Account deleted

19 March 2009, 21:16

Ok Nigel :

Now all i can do for step for is to read it , and i think it come between step 3 and 5 :)

Can you go with me through every item in it  

Account deleted

21 March 2009, 0:34

Helloooooo  , any help 
Account deleted

22 March 2009, 13:54

I really wonder if there are any kind of support for such a platform !!!!
Heinz Krettek's profile picture

22 March 2009, 14:48

Hi Yasser,