Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Error on pages after deleting collection

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

19 July 2011, 6:35

I'm new to Mahara, so please be gentle with me. 

A user deleted a collection and now gets the error "Collection with ID8 Not Found" when clicking on her pages that used to be within the collection. Have you any idea what could be causing this?

If not how can I get this back from a backup?

I've never done it before so any help would be grateful.

Thanks in advance,

James.

Account deleted

19 July 2011, 17:13

James, I'm able to reproduce this bug.  It happens when you include a navigation block into a page, and then delete the collection referenced by the navigation block.

I've filed a bug report here: https://bugs.launchpad.net/mahara/+bug/813204

In the meantime, deleting the navigation block that refers to the deleted collection will get you going again, but you'd have to do that directly in the database.  If the page has id 12345, do this:

DELETE FROM block_instance WHERE blocktype = 'navigation' AND view = 12345;

Account deleted

20 July 2011, 3:06

Thanks Richard.  It certainly sounds like it's the solution.

As I said earlier, i'm a total Newbie, so is there any chance you could give me step by step instructions on how to apply the fix?

Thanks,

James.

Account deleted

21 July 2011, 21:59

James, it really depends on how you access your database, the command I posted before assumes you're using some kind of terminal client like psql.

If you're using a graphical or web-based client to administer your database, then you need to find the row in the block_instance table that has the id of the page you can't edit in the 'view' column, the string 'navigation' in the blocktype column, and delete that row.

If on the other hand you want to fix the problem at the code level, you'll need to apply the patch linked to from the bug report. This will give you some ideas: