Forums | Mahara Community

Open Discussion /
Policing Content & Cyberbullying

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

29 January 2009, 8:46

I'm relatively new to mahara, but I'm interesting in rolling it out to 150+ schools in the UK who currently have moodle systems with us.

One of the big issues that's been raised by the schools is the policing of content and the whole area of cyberbullying which is a big issue here.

Are there any controls to limit or report on the type, size or total number of files uploaded by a child.

Secondly are there any controls in place that would limit/detect abuse of the system?

Mary Cooch's profile picture

29 January 2009, 9:01

I'm very interested in this too. One of my concerns is/was the fact that pupils can in theory create views that they can make visible to anyone in the world - and how can we permanently police these views? Heinz said that apparently they can set a so-called 'secret url' for their mates, hard to guess for the rest of cyberspace .. another issue is my linemanager is wondering if there is a way we can actually probit them from creating certain 'views' -ie, not allow them to create views for their friendship groups, just for their teachers/exam moderators/prospective employers etc. Anyone answer this in addition to Anthony's question?
Account deleted

29 January 2009, 17:53

Hi Mary,

While I except that cyber bullying is a problem in schools, there are much easier ways for students to undertake this with other tools--Blogs, WIKIs, mobile phones and email.

My concerns with eportfolio systems, including Mahara, pertain to some of the underlying design assumptions.  It seems to me that eportfolio systems are designed heavily around institutional assessment and Mahara is no exception to this.