Forums | Mahara Community

Open Discussion /
Suggestions for next version of Mahara

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

20 January 2009, 2:55

Hi I'm new to Mahara, but I have a couple of suggestions that would improve its operation.

1. Open up the kinds of external media that you can embed in a view. What's there is limited--the embed code, or just the URL of slide share for example will not work in the view.

2.  Include the option for emailing a guest invitation for a specific view rather than public URL or Secret URL options.

3. The RSS feeds options for an external Blog seems to be a bit clunky with a fair bit of mucking around for novices to include the feed and have it work properly.

I'm not sure if you have a voting mechanism like then Moodle community for the next bits for development, but if you do this is not a bad place to consider.

I look forward to learning more about Mahara and getting my students to use this tool for a range of purposes, not just as educational assessment.

Best,

Scot.

Account deleted

20 January 2009, 5:36

Hello Scot,

I discovered Mahara in Sep2008, but I wasn't seriously involved until September 2008. My view is that Mahara has improved notably in the last six month or so-also the community website-, but I do agree with some of the points you mentioned.

Most of the common widgets -Photobucket, Widget, etc- cannot be embeded in the Mahara HTML editor. I am also trying to build a "share it" button that works in Mahara, for social bookmarking, as the code from websites such as Addthis.com doesn't work either.

Other aspect that we need to improve is the themes' gallery. At the moment, there is only  one theme. available. 

I conceive Mahara not as a mere eportfolio platform, but as a personal online space, and in order to achieve this last aim, we need to give more choices to users. They should be able to choose the theme they want, for instance.