Forums | Mahara Community

Open Discussion /
Why we choose Mahara?

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

25 March 2010, 7:08

Hi,

i am a student and just installed Mahara on my University server. I am still new in Mahara or any ePortfolio or Learning Management System.

My questions are:

a. Why we choose Mahara and not the other? like Moodle for example?

b. What is the advantage of using Mahara that not available on another system? 

for example we could also store and share on Google Docs (or perhaps Google Wave) but why Mahara? is there  any plus point?

Thanks a lot for any input!

Afrizal

Heinz Krettek's profile picture

25 March 2010, 8:52

Hello,

in a meeting with Martin d. he told us that Moodle and mahara are siters. They support each other. 

Moodle is a LMS and there ore teacher centric as Mahara is a E-Portfolio system and therefor lerner centric

While there a mamy ways to do portfolio work only a few systems and less opensourcew systems allow a user protected work. Here the users decided which artfacts to show, to which audiance, in which timeframe with a good layout.

Cheers Heinz

Account deleted

25 March 2010, 10:27

How if Mahara compared with Trac system for project management tools? how can we hold on Mahara?

Dont get it wrong, i use mahara but just want to know the comparison with the other systems so that it could complete my documentation.

Thanks

Account deleted

25 March 2010, 11:10

Hello Afrizal,

As Heinz has mentioned,  Moodle and Mahre are a sort of "cousins" (indeed, some  of the development team of Mahara were also involved in some major Moodle development) and therefore, it is easy and straightforward -as well as cheap- for Moodle educators to integrate Mahara as eportfolio for assessment.