Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
controlled membership

Mary Cooch's profile picture

14 January 2009, 16:00

Hi there

I am just beginning to look at Mahara from the student/teacher point of view. I want to  create a group and then add my students to it. I am admin on the Mahara (well I should be - it is mine!) but when I go to create a group I don't have the option for controlled membership that I thought I should have. Am I doing something wrong somewhere?  Have I (done that old Moodle trick) and accidentally lost my admin rights in the process of connecting my Moodle to my Mahara?

EDIT: This is strange When I log in from Moodle I do not have admin rights - when I log in directly into Mahara without going through Moodle I DO have all the admin rights - ...?

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

14 January 2009, 18:49

Hi Mary,

I think what has happened here is that you actually have two account on the Mahara - one is your Mahara admin account (user ID 1), and the other is an account that you roam into from Moodle.

Note that when you roam, you won't be put in an existing account unless that is created by roaming - because that would be a security problem. Imagine if you were 'mary' on Mahara, and then some other student who isn't you called 'mary' on the moodle roams - you wouldn't want them to end up in your account! What happens is they would get a new account called 'mary1' instead.

So you probably have two accounts. In the first one, you're an admin, so you can create a controlled community (staff and admins can do this). In the second, you roamed so you're currently just a student, meaning you can't create a controlled community.

Hope that explains!

14 January 2009, 19:27