Forums | Mahara Translation

Translations /
adminlang.git - unable to push to git.mahara.org

David Mudrák's profile picture

23 December 2008, 17:59

Hi!

Today I was working on my adminlang repository (it adds features allowing to translate Mahara thru the web interface). Basically, I did the following:

1) I rebased the branch "adminlang" against fetched master (1.1.0beta3)

2) I created new branch adminlang-1.0 off the recent 1.0_STABLE. Then I cherry-picked all commits from adminlang so the branch now behaves like Mahara 1.0.7 with the translation support.

(I am still learning git tricks - I believe that 2) can be done easily with git-rebase --onto or similar)

I was able to push both branches into http://repo.or.cz/w/mahara-contrib.git

But when I try to push adminlang to git.mahara.org I get an error message and I do not understand the problem. Can anybody help/comment? TIA

This is the command and the output:

$ git push -v -f git+ssh://git.mahara.org/git/contrib/adminlang.git adminlang:adminlang
Pushing to git+ssh://git.mahara.org/git/contrib/adminlang.git
Counting objects: 4615, done.
Compressing objects: 100% (1505/1505), done.
Writing objects: 100% (4136/4136), 1.12 MiB | 58 KiB/s, done.
Total 4136 (delta 2978), reused 3597 (delta 2488)
error: denying non-fast forward refs/heads/adminlang (you should pull first)
To git+ssh://git.mahara.org/git/contrib/adminlang.git
! [remote rejected] adminlang -> adminlang (non-fast forward)
error: failed to push some refs to 'git+ssh://git.mahara.org/git/contrib/adminlang.git

23 December 2008, 18:55

Hmm... to be honest I dunno what happened but after some abraka dabras it works. Still, I do not understand what the problem with my setup could be... I really do like git very much so hopefuly I'll be able to use it effectively...

24 December 2008, 6:14

Hi David,

Many, many thanks. Your tool is very useful! Can stand to see it in the core.

Cheers and merry Christmas!

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted