Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Installing Mahara on WAMP!

Aziiks's profile picture

31 August 2022, 11:28

I am new to Mahara and really interested to introduce to my Academy, I could not find detail steps on installing Mahara on google or youtube, please kindly assist me with this, I would really appreciate.

Thank you.

Doris ⚡'s profile picture

31 August 2022, 16:32

Hi Asi,

It's awesome that you want to introduce Mahara to your academy!~ :D

There are multiple ways to get an instance of Mahara up and running.

- Option 1 -

The quickest way is to download a zip file from our Launchpad at https://launchpad.net/mahara and follow the instructions in the README in the zip file. The latest stable release is Mahara 22.04.2. We will be releasing Mahara 22.10 in the second half of October.

- Option 2 -

A more custom setup would be to get the code from Git, set up a developer environment on a local computer, and then transfer files to a server. For a full dev environment setup, https://wiki.mahara.org/wiki/Developer_Area is a great place to start reading. Note that we develop Mahara on a Linux-based tech stack, so we won't be able to help much if you have Windows-related questions. However, we know that some people got it working with Windows.

Kind regards,

Doris

Aziiks's profile picture

09 September 2022, 17:33

Hi Dory2380,

Thanks alot for your prompt reply. I was able to install wampserver, I launched mahara successfully and I clicked install Mahara,  whilst performing installation I got the error in the first instance of installing core component/plugin error is 'Failed to upgrade.' See screenshot attached, please kindly assist me with this.

Thank you.

• Mahara Error.JPG
Aziiks's profile picture

10 September 2022, 10:38

Hi Dory2380,