Forums | Mahara Community

Open Discussion /
SCORM & back end data in Mahara

Allison Miller's profile picture

08 February 2012, 18:05

I have two queries:

• is it possible to upload SCORM packaged learning objects into Mahara/Mahara pages?
  • where is the 'back end' data of user activity in Mahara (I am a Site Administrator)?

Much appreciated, Allison

Kristina Hoeppner's profile picture

08 February 2012, 19:50

Hi Allison,

You can upload SCORM objects and make them available for download, but you cannot display them as you can in Moodle for example.

Would students / learners create SCORM objects to use in their portfolios? Or do you want to make teacher-led learning content available?

You can see certain user activity as site admin in the statistics (from 1.3 on). There are no activities such as when a user modified a page, content item etc. You can add ideas of what you think would be relevant at https://mahara.org/interaction/forum/topic.php?id=675

Cheers

Kristina

09 February 2012, 2:55

Thanks Kristina. I found the Stats. This will be very useful.

In terms of the SCORM objects, it was to determine whether SCORM resources could be loaded to Mahara and then added to a page which could be copied by students to keep a copy in their own eportfolio. This would be instead of students having to export them from Moodle to Mahara.

Kristina Hoeppner's profile picture

09 February 2012, 3:59

Hello Allison,

Thank you for the explanation. This can be done already now. However, students would only be able to see a link to the file which would sit in their portfolio and would have to download it to view on their computer.

If you think that Mahara should be able to dispay SCORM objects, you could file a wishlist item at https://bugs.launchpad.net/mahara/+filebug

Cheers

Kristina

09 February 2012, 7:02

Dear Allison,

I don't see the point that Mahara should support SCORM. Scorm is a "tricky" (complicate) structure of files that include:

• resources