Forums | Mahara Community

Support /
Admin Permissions

anonymous profile picture
Account deleted

06 February 2012, 7:52

We're piloting the latest version of Mahara.

When I login as admin, I still don't have permissions to look at a student's view (or page) unless the student specifically grants it. Is this correct? Any way to change this? I understand it should function like that for regular users, but I would assume the admin would be able to see everything/anything. I relalize I could login as that user, then go find the view, but that is a lot of extra work. 

Also, is there a way to see a list of all exisiting views from all users? 

Mary Cooch's profile picture

06 February 2012, 9:39

I thought that was the expected behaviour, though I might be wrong. I am an admin and I can't natively see all users' pages unless I log in as them or they grant me access.

Account deleted

06 February 2012, 12:42

Really? Maybe I'm just used to other systems where the admin is the admin and can do/see anything. It is a little difficult to manage, or just to sample, what your users are doing when you can't see what they're doing. 

Kristina Hoeppner's profile picture

06 February 2012, 15:43

Hello John,

It is by design that you as admin cannot immediately see everything another user does. An admin should not be involved in what users do. Mahara is designed as personal learning environment in which the users can decide who shall have access to their portfolio pages and their content.

An admin has the possibility to see other user's account though by masquerading as that user. When you go to a user profile as admin, you will see the "Login as" link. That allows you to see an account as if you were a user. It is great for figuring out permission problems,

Cheers

Kristina

Account deleted

07 February 2012, 7:05